《卫讯》 - 2022年3月

为何参加实体崇拜?


从摩西之歌(出15章)学习的属灵功课

为何参加实体崇拜?


从摩西之歌(出15章)学习的属灵功课

随着冠状疫情进入地方性的“新常态”,许多堂会都呼吁会友回来参加实体崇拜。这牵涉到实体崇拜的重要性。

我们若继续在家里参加线上敬拜,将会错过什么?为何值得重新培养参加实体崇拜的习惯?若我们已经开始回到实体崇拜,为何我们应该继续呢?

出埃及记15:1-18的摩西之歌是圣经中第一首“敬拜诗”。它提供了一些关于敬拜的宝贵功课,包括我们为何应该参加实体敬拜的三大原因。

1. 与神相遇

首先,实体崇拜更能帮助我们与神相遇。上帝是我们敬拜的对象,与祂相遇是崇拜的基本要素。

这是摩西之歌的大前提。这首诗歌是在红海沿岸唱的。出15:1-12述说上帝怎么与以色列人同在,并为他们行奇事,使他们越过红海,脱离埃及的捆绑。法老的军兵都被海水吞没,坠到海的深处。以色列人亲身体会独一真神的同在与大能,就敬拜祂。

同样的,我们今天也出了“埃及”,并且越过了“红海”。因为在基督里,我们得蒙救赎,脱离罪恶的捆绑。死亡被生命吞没,我们的罪恶坠到海的深处(弥迦书7:19)。今天,我们也同样亲身体会这位神的同在与大能,并要敬拜祂。

每周的实体崇拜就如回到红海沿岸,重新体验上帝拯救我们的大能作为。教会的圣殿是分别为圣的地方,当中的十架、圣桌以及其他的属灵记号与设计,都促使我们专注于主。

此外,看到身边的弟兄姐妹尽情地敬拜,也帮助我们更投入敬拜。这些敬拜的氛围是无法在线上完全体现的。

2. 彼此鼓励

第二,参加实体崇拜能够激励我们一起向上帝守约,也彼此守约。

守约的概念出现在出15:13,当经文提到上帝的“慈爱”。在希伯来原文,“慈爱”这个用词是Hesed,指的是上帝信实与坚定的爱,以及立约与守约的爱。凭着祂的Hesed,上帝带领祂所救赎的子民经过旷野,而以色列人要活出立约子民的身份,遵守上帝的律法。

同样,今天,我们也要回应上帝立约的爱。崇拜是守约的表现。因此,我们每主日的委身十分重要,包括参加实体崇拜和领受圣餐。

崇拜甚至让我们预尝到天堂的滋味,因为我们现今的敬拜反映将来在天上的荣耀与完美的敬拜。

守约也包含群体的层面。我们是彼此立约的朝圣者。我们同走生命的旷野路,而且在这路程的曲折中,我们要不断相互鼓励,彼此分享上帝的Hesed。为此,我们实体的参与十分关键。实体的参与体现我们的合一,同时表达我们对他人的支持,就如同我们参加实体的婚礼或丧礼来支持我们的亲友一样。

目前,我们一上网就可以选择参加无数的线上崇拜。但是,只有当我们参加一个教会的实体崇拜,我们才真正成为这信心社体的一份子,这个群体才能滋润我们的灵命。我们才能在爱中彼此监督与守望,一同在主里成长。

3. 展望天堂

最后,实体崇拜指向我们旷野之旅的终点。

摩西之歌来到结尾,宣告上帝子民的盼望:“你要将他们领进去,栽于你产业的山上…就是你手所建立的圣所。”(出15:17)这座山是在应许之地,很可能指的是耶路撒冷的锡安山。这也预表新天新地,将来的新耶路撒冷;在那里,“耶和华必作王,直到永永远远!”(出15:18)。

的确,每当我们聚集敬拜,我们心存盼望地一起展望天堂。崇拜甚至让我们预尝到天堂的滋味,因为我们现今的敬拜反映将来在天上的荣耀与完美的敬拜。这是何等的福分!

线上崇拜很难反映新天新地的敬拜,因为缺少了我们与其他圣徒一起敬拜的实体性。我们应该一直朝向更加体现天堂的敬拜。

因此,在符合疫情安全措施的当儿,让我们尽可能回来参加实体崇拜,藉此与神相遇,彼此鼓励,并一起展望天堂!



洪培正牧师
恩约堂助理


Share
X
X

CAC NEWS - MARCH 2022

Why Worship Onsite?


Lessons from the Song of Moses (Exodus 15)

Why Worship Onsite?


Lessons from the Song of Moses (Exodus 15)

With the COVID-19 situation entering an endemic “new normal”, many of our churches are re-opening their doors to more onsite worshippers. Given these developments, it is timely to consider how necessary it is to return physically for weekly services.

What are we missing when we worship at home via livestream? Why might it be worth breaking out of the settled rhythm of online or hybrid services that we have grown used to, or even comfortable with, over the past two years? Or if we have returned to worship onsite, why is it important that we continue?

The Song of Moses in Exodus 15:1-18, the first “worship song” in Scripture, offers some valuable lessons on worship. In particular, it gives three key reasons why we should return to onsite worship.

1. Encountering God

First, worship involves encountering God. The One whom we worship must be present with us. This is the premise of the worship song of Exodus 15. Verses 1-12 centre on the lived reality of God and His mighty acts. “I will sing to the Lord, for he is highly exalted. Both horse and driver he has hurled into the sea.” (Exodus 15:1)

When this song was first sung, Moses and the Israelites were literally standing on the shores of the Red Sea. They had just witnessed the miraculous parting of the waters, opening for them the way of salvation, and then swallowing up their enemies, hurling the Pharaoh’s army into the watery depths. They worshipped before the presence and power of the one true God whom they had personally encountered.

The same applies to us today. We are people of the New Exodus. Christ, the Greater Moses, has opened the way to salvation for us. We have passed through the waters of baptism. Death has been swallowed up by life. Our sins have been hurled into the depths (cf. Micah 7:19). Today, we come before the presence and power of this same God who has delivered us, and we respond in worship.

Onsite worship allows us to re-encounter God and relive the reality of our salvation in ways that online worship cannot fully replicate.

How best can we personally encounter our Great Deliverer in worship? By worshipping onsite. When we gather for onsite worship, we are like the ancient Israelites gathering on the shores of the Red Sea, to behold God’s great salvific acts afresh. In church, we gather in the sacred space that has been set apart for worship, along with all the visual symbols of God and the Gospel, such as the cross and the communion table.

In church, we are also surrounded by fellow believers in embodied worship. Think of the times you have been spurred on in worship due to the people around you. Witnessing other brothers and sisters earnestly praising God enlivens our own worship.

Onsite worship allows us to re-encounter God and relive the reality of our salvation in ways that online worship cannot fully replicate.

2. Encouraging One Another

Secondly, worshipping onsite encourages us to keep our covenant with God and fellow believers.

The passage introduces the notion of covenant in verse 13: “In your unfailing love you will lead the people you have redeemed.” The Hebrew term rendered as “unfailing love” is hesed, which expresses God’s faithful, steadfast, covenant-making and covenant-keeping love. In His hesed, the Lord led the Israelites through their wilderness journey (Exodus 15:13-16). The Israelites, in turn, were called to live as God’s covenant people, in faithful obedience to God’s law.

Similarly, we are called today to respond to God’s covenant love. Worship is about covenant-keeping. Hence the importance of regular and committed participation every Sunday, including worshipping and partaking in Holy Communion onsite. Thus understood, worship is more a matter of obedience than preference.

… our worship service gives us a foretaste of heaven, as we enact in the here and now, in our own modest ways, the gloriously perfect worship of God in heaven.

Notably, there is a communal dimension to covenant-keeping. We are pilgrims in covenant with one another. With this same hesed, we are to continually encourage one another along the twists and turns of our “wilderness journey” through this world. To this end, our physical presence counts. It is a mark of our solidarity with and support for one another, akin to how we support our family and friends when we physically attend weddings and wakes.

Today, we have access to a countless array of online services. We might be tempted to engage in virtual church-hopping. But turning up onsite and participating physically in the life of the church signals our commitment to one local church community and allows for our formation in this community. We are better able to stay accountable and watch over one another in love. This is essential to our Christian life and growth.

3. Envisioning Heaven

Thirdly, our weekly worship points us to the glorious destination of our wilderness journey.

The Song of Moses climaxes with a resounding note of hope: “You will bring them in and plant them on the mountain of your inheritance—the place, Lord, you made for your dwelling, the sanctuary, Lord, your hands established.” (Exodus 15:17). The song is picturing the Promised Land, very likely Mt Zion in Jerusalem, which in turn points forward to the Heavenly Jerusalem, where “The Lord reigns for ever and ever.” (Exodus 15:18).

Indeed, when we gather to worship each Sunday, we are cultivating our hope in the glorious eternity that awaits us. We are collectively envisioning heaven. In fact, our worship service gives us a foretaste of heaven, as we enact in the here and now, in our own modest ways, the gloriously perfect worship of God in heaven. What a privilege!

It is difficult to imagine enacting heavenly worship online, for the embodied environment and the fellow saints surrounding us are crucial to our worship experience, and more closely reflect the heavenly realities we look forward to. We should aim towards enacting heavenly worship ever more closely than to be increasingly distanced from it by way of virtual worship.

Therefore, let us take every opportunity, as far as COVID-19 safety regulations allow, to return for onsite worship—to better encounter God, encourage one another, and envision eternity together. May onsite worship be an integral part of our “new normal” during and after this pandemic.



Rev Timothy Ang
Assistant Pastor, Holy Covenant Methodist Church


Share
X
X